Evacuation ships to wait at sea off Istanbul in case of major earthquake


With a plan prepared by the Interior Ministry in collaboration with several relevant agencies, evacuation ships will remain at sea off Istanbul to take earthquake victims out of the province in the event of a possible earthquake. major land expected in the Marmara region.

The plan for Istanbul, one of the most populous cities in Turkey with 16 million inhabitants, was jointly prepared by the Ministry of Interior, the Istanbul Governor’s Office, the Presidency of Disaster Management and emergencies (AFAD) and the provincial command of the gendarmerie.

The plan proposes four means of evacuation, including sea, air, land and rail routes, in case a 7.5 magnitude earthquake hits the area.

“There are 23 evacuation centers in Istanbul. First, we will bring people together in these centers, ”Metin Günal, the gendarmerie colonel, told the national television station TRT.

The plan designated some 18 cities in the western, eastern and southern regions of Turkey as “supporting provinces”.

“In the second stage, we will evacuate people from Istanbul to these ‘support cities’ using all means of transport,” Günal added.

According to the plan, the first line of evacuation is the sea route to evacuate people from areas affected by the earthquake.

Authorities have identified six ferry docks, including Sirkeci, İstinye, Zeytinburnu, Yenikapı, Harem and Pendik, as “seaway evacuation centers”. People will be brought to these centers and then transferred to ships waiting offshore to evacuate them safely.

According to the TRT report, the stations of Yeşilköy, Halkalı and Tuzla will be the main centers of the “railway evacuation line”.

As part of the plan, the Esenler, Alibeyköy, Samandemra and Harem bus stations were selected as the four main “land emergency exits”.

Also, the city’s three airports, Istanbul, Atatürk and Sabiha Gökçen, will serve as air evacuation centers.

According to the plan, disabled and disabled people will be given priority in the evacuation process, followed by women, children and the elderly. The “support provinces” which will receive the victims of the earthquake after the evacuation have been divided into two groups.

In the first group, there are 11 cities in western, southern and central Turkey: Balıkesir, Eskişehir, Ankara, Manisa, Izmir, Afyonkarahisar, Konya, Antalya, Denizli, Samsun and Kayseri.

The second group includes seven cities located in the eastern and northern regions of Turkey: Adana, Gaziantep, Malatya, Trabzon, Diyarbakır, Erzurum and Erzincan.

Source link

Previous Past, present and future: United as one
Next Beşiktaş gets closer to Turkish Süper Lig title

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *