Turkey has 30 eruption scenarios for its 14 volcanoes: minister


As part of the volcanic eruption hazard assessment, Turkey has generated around 30 scenarios for 14 volcanoes spread across the country through studies carried out in collaboration with the University of Bristol in the UK, the minister said. Energy and Natural Resources.

“We worked on all the risk assessments,” Fatih Dönmez said, answering a parliamentary question on January 17.


Following the volcanic eruption that shut down communication systems in the Pacific island of Tonga, an opposition MP asked Dönmez in a parliamentary question if Turkey was at such a risk.

“There are movements in the Hasan Dağı [a volcanic mountain in the Central Anatolia]. Is there a relationship between volcanic activities and earthquakes in the Aegean region? Has Turkey conducted research on its volcanoes? asked Murat Bakan, an MP from the western province of Izmir.

In his answer, Dönmez first listed 14 volcanoes in the country and provinces: Hasan Dağı (Aksaray-Niğde), Erciyes (Kayseri), Acıgöl (Nevşehir), Göllüdağ (Niğde), Karapınar (Konya), the plateau of Kars, Süphan (Bitlis), Tendürek (Bitlis-Ağrı), Mount Ağrı, Girekol Hill (Van), Gölcük (Isparta), Kula (Manisa), Karacadağ (Diyarbakır).

“All potential eruption hazard assessments for these mountains have been done,” the minister said. “Especially for 12 volcanoes, officials performed some 220,000 simulations and generated about 30 tephra scenarios.”


Tephra is a general term for airborne pyroclastic materials ejected during a volcanic eruption.

The minister also indicated that the General Directorate of Mineral Exploration and Research (MTA) has launched three projects specific to the dangers of a probable eruption in Hasan Dağı between 2010 and 2020.


Previous A food show showcases Turkish cuisine at NYC Turkish House
Next No injuries, minor damage after earthquake in central Turkey