Sivasspor makes history with 1st Turkish Cup victory

Thousands of people in the central town of Sivas and many of their compatriots celebrated on Thursday as their home side Sivasspor lifted their first trophy in club history after beating Kayserispor in the 60th Turkish Cup final Ziraat.

The Central Anatolia derby, which was played in Istanbul, ended in a 1-1 draw. Yukatel Kayserispor took the lead in the 38th minute as defender Ramazan Civelek found the net just outside the penalty arc. Demir Grup Sivasspor responded in the 60th minute with Aaron Appindangoye, who had only Kayserispor goalkeeper Silviu Long to beat after Max Gradel’s long free-kick and Mustapha Yatabare’s header.

Sivasspor took the lead in extra time as Gradel’s elegant shot hit the woodwork and ended up in the net in the 95th minute. Kayserispor equalized in the 107th minute thanks to striker Ilhan Parlak’s header. Four minutes later, Olarenwaju Kayode snuck through the Kayserispor defense from the right and passed the ball to Pape Moussa Konate, who turned into a goal on a shot into the penalty area, scoring the winning goal for Sivasspor.

In addition to a packed Ataturk Olympic Stadium, tens of thousands of fans gathered in the central squares of Sivas and Kayseri to watch the final on giant screens.

After the victory, the historic town square of Sivas turned into a carnival site with thousands of fans taking to the streets, forming convoys and cheering.

Journalists covering the Ziraat Turkish Cup final named Kayserispor’s Romanian goalkeeper Silviu Lung as the man of the match.

President Recep Tayyip Erdoğan was among Turkish officials and dignitaries who congratulated the club, fans and the city of Sivas for their success.

The victory allowed Sivasspor to represent Turkey in European competitions for the third consecutive season, and the club earned a ticket to the UEFA Europa League play-off round.

While Kayserispor have won the Turkish Cup once, Sivasspor made their first-ever appearance in the final, which was first hosted by the Turkish Football Federation (TFF) in 1962-63. Sivasspor became the 16th club to win the trophy.

Kayserispor last won the trophy in the 2007-2008 season when they beat Gençlerbirliği in the final in an epic 11-10 penalty shootout, after scheduled time ended in a 0 stalemate. -0.

Sabah’s daily newsletter

Keep up to date with what is happening in Turkey, in its region and in the world.

You can unsubscribe anytime. By signing up, you agree to our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Previous Million Juvenile: An Eternal Princess Earns a Million Juvenile | Mysore News
Next Digging Deep: Genetics Gives Deeper Insight into the Origins of the World's First Farmers