Zola Jesus shares “Living in Cappadocia”

Zola Jesus released Living in Cappadociaperformance video celebrates the dominance and vibrancy of Zola Jesus’ voice with live performances of “Desire” and “Into The Wild” out of his mainstream Arkon, now available through Sacred Bones, as well as the standalone tracks “Skin” and “Siphon”. The video is available to stream and download now on select platforms and the audio will be available on DSPs this Friday, November 18.

Living in Cappadocia was filmed in a 2,000 year old chapel, these solo piano performances are just that; Nika Rosa Danilova alone, on the piano with no extra frills. What you hear is Nika’s commanding voice augmented only by natural echoes and sounds from space itself. Created in Turkey during the filming of the music video for “Lost”, director Mu Tunc and Zola Jesus shot Alive in Cappadocia in the ancient chapel, historically known as Bezirhane, the remains of which were discovered during the construction of Argos Hotel. Originally used to produce linseed oil, during its history Bezirhane also served as a monastery frequented by monks and a caravanserai frequented by travelers on the Silk Road. Chosen for its rich history, topography and acoustics, this stunning space is as awe-inspiring as the show itself.

On Alive at Cappadocia, Zola Jesus said: “While I was in Cappadocia filming my music video for ‘Lost’, Mu Tunc and I took over this beautiful old monastery on the grounds of Argos to film a rogue concert. Hearing my voice echo through this ancient space was nothing less than a memory I will carry with me forever. Grateful that this moment is archived in this film.

Director Mu Tunc adds, “The chapel has such a strong spirit that everything created inside resonates differently. When you consider that Nika played without any type of professional audio equipment and only the piano and her own voice ended up sounding so loud and clear, it’s pretty amazing. The whole experience was magical.

Zola Jesus
Living in Cappadocia
Track list
sacred bones

1. “Desire” (from Arkhon)
2. “In the wild” (from Arkhon)
3. “Skin” (from Conatus)
4. “Siphon” (by Okovi)

Zola Jesus
Track list
sacred bones

1. Lost
2. The fall
3. Countercurrent
4. In nature
5. Death and Gone
6. Sewn
7. Desire
8. Default
9. Efemra
10. Do it more

presave Living in Cappadocia HERE

Previous Tennants Fall Sales Results
Next The "Turkish Javelin Championship" will take place in Kayseri